Understanding Utah’s Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Car Insurance

If you have been injured in a motor vehicle accident in Utah, you probably have many things on your mind. You could be worried about:

  • Paying your medical bills
  • Covering your wages if you are forced to be out of work
  • Getting your car repaired
  • Having to pay for a rental car

Utah law's mandating specific types of car insurance coverage should allow you to rest easier. Utah is what is known as a "no-fault" automobile insurance state. This means that essentially the law is designed to keep insurance premiums lower by discouraging lawsuits between drivers. Each registered driver in the state is required to have particular types of coverage that will pay for medical expenses, lost wages and other costs associated with an injury-causing car accident. This type of coverage is designed to keep premiums as a whole as low as possible.

Since Utah is a no-fault state, drivers must have mandatory minimum levels of insurance, which might raise costs in the short-term. Drivers might be tempted to take shortcuts or purchase inadequate insurance coverage to save money. This is extremely unwise, as they could be leaving themselves open to a civil lawsuit in the event of an accident. Specifically, Utah law requires:

  • A minimum of $3,000 in personal injury protection (PIP)
  • At least $65,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage
  • At least $15,000 per accident for property damage
  • At least $25,000 per person for bodily injury coverage

Clearly, the state minimums would not likely cover the costs associated with a severe injury like a traumatic brain injury, broken bone requiring surgery or a spinal cord injury causing paraplegia or quadriplegia, so a civil lawsuit may still be necessary. If you or a loved one has been injured in a Utah car accident, you may be entitled to compensation for your losses. Consult with an experienced personal injury attorney in your area to learn more about your legal rights and options.